Madla Park Board Members

Paul Garro - Mayor
Tim Santy, City Council Liaison
Susan Beavin - Board Member 

Susan is a native of San Antonio.  She has lived in Denton, Waco, Kingwood (north of Houston), Poultney, VT, W. Rutland, VT and now home to Grey Forest.  She has a B.S. from University of Houston plus 39 graduate hours in science and education.  She is a former high school and middle school science teacher, insurance agent, restaurant manager and business owner in Texas and Vermont.  She has served as President (2 yrs), 1st Vice-President (2 yrs) and of the Chair of the Historic Farms & Ranches Committee (2 yrs) of the San Antonio Conservation Society.  She is Board of Director of the Madla Natural Area since its inception, Scenic Loop – Boerne Stage Alliance, Scenic San Antonio, San Antonio Unit of the National Association of Parliamentarians and has worked on the National Register of Historic Places for Grey Forest.

Storms Duthie - Chair Person

Storms Duthie is currently employed as a full time Licensed Real Estate Agent with Realty Executives-Select Properties in Helotes, Texas. He also is involved with numerous nonprofit organizations in different capacities, often as a project manager. Education includes an Undergraduate degree and Graduate degree in Adult Education from the University of Incarnate Word. Job experience includes; full time faculty member with San Antonio Academy of Texas, instructor with San Antonio Art Institute, USAF Veteran. Senator Frank L. Madla Jr. Natural Area Board Member Since 2011.

Jenn Nottingham - Board Member

Jennifer (Jen) Nottingham moved to Grey Forest from the Southside of San Antonio with her parents in 1959.  She attended Helotes Elementary, Pat Neff Middle School, John Marshall High School, and obtained an Associate’s Degree from San Antonio College.  Growing up in Grey Forest, Jen enjoyed riding horseback on dirt roads, swimming in the spring fed pool, and digging for treasure when she took the family garbage to the dump at SLPC on Saturday morning.  She left for the University of Texas, Austin, in 1972, where she earned a Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education.   Jen and her husband, Jeff Davis, purchased the Reidner property in Grey Forest in the spring of 1990.  She spent 28 years in the Texas Public School system. Jen taught reading to migrant farm worker children in Edgewood ISD, first and third grade in Northside ISD, and first grade and reading in Bandera ISD. After retiring in 2002,  Jen established, implemented and coordinated the Palo Alto College EMS Training Program until 2016.  She has been active with the Grey Forest Area VFD (now Bexar County ESD 8) since 1992. 

She has served on the City Council since 2002.  While on Council, Jen was fortunate to be able to assist the City in obtaining the property and the TPWD and COSA grants to establish Senator Frank L. Madla, Jr. Natural Area (Madla Park).  She has served as Council Liaison to the Madla BOD since its inception.

Anne McCarthy - Board Member

Anne McCarthy grew up in San Antonio, Texas. She is the director of the Esther Vexler Yoga School, a nonprofit that provides community focused yoga and yoga teacher training. Anne has a Master’s in Education and teaches high school math. Anne is an experienced registered yoga teacher having taught over 2,000 hours of yoga, Anne loves to walk her dogs when she is outside of the classroom.

Chris Porter- Board Member

Chris Porter moved to the Grey Forest area in 2010 and has been lost in the woods since then. He joined the Senator Frank L Madla, Jr. Natural Area board in 2018. His professional career has centered on Product Management and Business Development in the outdoor consumer goods industry.

Monika P. Ostrov - Board Member

Monika (Petra) arrived in Bexar County in 2010. While moving across the US and Europe. she discovered her interest in native and invasive species. Kayaking, biking , and walking her dogs gives her plenty of opportunity to be on the lookout for undesirable species in sensitive environments.